Dangote, Govs bid Oshiomhole bye, welcome Obaseki

The Edo State Government on Friday evening held a thanksgiving Mass at St. Paul’s Catholic Church, Airport Road in Benin, as part of activities marking the end of the eight-year tenure of Governor Adams Oshiomhole.
Present at the religious ceremony were Governor Oshiomhole, the Deputy Governor, Dr. Pius Odubu; the governor-elect, Godwin ‎Obaseki and his deputy, Philip Shuaibu, in company with their wives.
Others were the APC National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun; Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State; Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State; his Plateau State counterpart, Simon Lalung; and Governor Abubakar of Bauchi.
Also in attendance we‎re former governors of Delta and Ogun, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan and Chief Olusegun Osoba, respectively.
Others were members of the state executive council, legislature, judiciary, traditional rulers and captains of industry, led by the Chairman of Dangote Group, Aliko Dangote.
While appreciating the people of the state for their support throughout his term in office, Oshiomhole noted that his last day in office was among the busiest, as he had to oversee the commissioning of more projects in several parts of the state.
He also commended the APC governors for their brotherly support.
The governor also appointed four new permanent secretaries for the state civil service.
Those appointed include Anthony Okungbowa; the state Secretary of the Nigeria Labour Congress, Kadiri Bashiru; state Chairman of the Association of Secondary School Principals, Y. A. Imoudu, and a headmistress, Mrs. Obasamwinye Obazee.
Meanwhile, the governor-elect, Godwin Obaseki, will on Saturday be sworn in, alongside his deputy-elect, Philip Shuaibu.
Their oaths of office will be administered at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin.
The oath of office is expected to be administered by the Chief Judge of the state, Justice Cromwell Idahosa.
Among the dignitaries expected to grace the event are governors from the All Progressives Congress, the national leadership of the party, traditional rulers and captains of industry.